faculty

Name Title Area of Research/Specialization Phone & Office Email Address
Agnani, Sunil
Associate Professor
European Enlightenment, 18th-century studies, Literature of Empire & Decolonization
(312) 413-2234
1919 UH
sagnani1@uic.edu
Ashton, Jennifer
Associate Professor
American literature
(312) 413-2233
1912 UH
jashton@uic.edu
Barnes, Natasha
Associate 
Professor
African American literature, Caribbean literature, cultural studies
(312) 416-2950
1207 UH
nbbarnes@uic.edu
Brown, Nicholas
Professor
Literature of Africa, modernism, critical theory
(312) 996-4694
2014 UH
cola@uic.edu
Canuel, Mark
Professor
Romantic literature
(312) 996-2580
1910 UH
mcanuel@uic.edu
Chiang, Mark  Associate 
Professor
Asian American literature
(312) 413-0463
803 UH
mchiang@uic.edu 
Cintron, Ralph
Associate 
Professor
Rhetoric and ethnography
(312) 413-2736
2012 UH
rcintron@uic.edu
Davis, Lennard
Professor
The novel, critical theory, deaf and disability studies, biocultures
(312) 413-8910
2020 UH
lendavis@uic.edu
Destigter, Todd
Associate 
Professor
English education, ethnography, literacy
(312) 413-1043
1902 UH
tdestig@uic.edu
Dubey, Madhu
Professor African American literature, cultural studies, postmodernism
(312) 413-2248
1911 UH
madhud@uic.edu
Freeman, Lisa
Professor and Head
18th-Century Literature and Culture; Theater and Performance Studies
(312) 413-2204
2031 UH
lfreeman@uic.edu
Grey, Robin
Associate 
Professor
Colonial and 19th C. American lit., 17th C. British literature
(312) 413-2902
1925 UH
rgrey@uic.edu
Grimes, Christopher
Associate 
Professor
Fiction
(312) 413-0060
1926 UH
cgrimes@uic.edu
Havrelock, Rachel
Associate 
Professor
Biblical studies, folklore
(312) 413-4689
1909 UH
raheleh@uic.edu
Jun, Helen Associate Professor Asian American literature
(312) 413-2223
1924 UH
junhelen@uic.edu
Kornbluh, Anna Associate Head, Associate Professor
Victorian literature and critical theory
(312) 413-8142
2015 UH
kornbluh@uic.edu
Mazza, Cris
Professor  Fiction
(312) 413-2795
1932 UH
cmazza@uic.edu
Michaels, Benn Walter Professor American literature, literary theory
(312) 996-9373
1901 UH
wbm@uic.edu
Mohanraj, Anne Mary Clinical Assistant Professor Fiction & Creative Nonfiction, Colonial & Postcolonial Literature
(312) 413-7593
1915 UH
mohanraj@uic.edu
Mufti, Nasser
Assistant Professor Victorian Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Critical Theory
(312) 413-1559
2022 UH
nmufti@uic.edu
Pugh, Christina Professor Poetry
(312) 413-7400
1933 UH
capugh@uic.edu
Reames, Robin Assistant Professor Rhetoric
(312) 413-1559
2024 UH
rreames@uic.edu
Rose, Beth Mary
Professor Renaissance literature, drama, gender studies
(312) 996-7815
            1907 UH
mbrose@uic.edu
Schaafsma, David
Professor Community-based literacy, narrative inquiry
(312) 413-2222
1904 UH
schaaf1@uic.edu
Tabbi, Joseph
Professor Contemporary literature, technology and literature
(312) 413-9568
2021 UH
jtabbi@uic.edu
Thomas, Alfred Professor Medieval and Early-Modern English and European Literature
(312) 413-2246
2009 UH
alfredt@uic.edu
Urrea, Luis
Professor Fiction, non-fiction, poetry
(312) 413-2221
1908 UH
lurrea@uic.edu
Whalen, Terence
Associate Professor
19th-century American literature
(312) 413-2225
1922 UH
twhalen@uic.edu
Clarke, Ainsworth A. Assistant Professor

(312) 996-4789
1205 UH
ac57@uic.edu

Andrews, Linda Landis  Lecturer Director of Internships
(312) 413-2236
1929 UH
landrews@uic.edu
Baez, Marc Lecturer
(312) 413-0246
2018 UH
mbaez1@uic.edu
Birkenstein-Graff, Kathy Lecturer
(312) 413-8939
2008 UH
cbgraff@uic.edu
Boulay, Katherine  Lecturer 
(312) 413-2240
2004 UH
kboulay@uic.edu
Buslik, Gary Lecturer 
(312) 996-1801
1807 UH 
gbusli1@uic.edu
Casey, John
Lecturer  19th and early 20th Century American Literature, Veterans Studies, Environmental Humanities 
(312) 413-2214
1833 UH 
jcasey3@uic.edu 
Cassidy, Marsha Senior Lecturer 

Media history and criticism; gender studies; television theory; popular literature and film

(312) 413-8939
2008 UH 
mcassidy@uic.edu 
Costello, Virginia Lecturer 
(312) 413-2224 
1803 UH
vcostell@uic.edu 
Dancey, Angela Lecturer 
(312) 413-7277
1821 UH 
adancey@uic.edu 
Drown, James Lecturer 
(312) 996-1801
1807 UH 
jdrown1@uic.edu 
Ford, William Lecturer 
(312) 413-2242
1801 UH 
wford2@uic.edu 
Glomski, Christopher Senior Lecturer        Contemporary poetics, history of English and American poetry, visual arts, popular music, and Italian literature (312) 413-2218
1823 UH
vivo@uic.edu 
Grunow, Scott Lecturer  Religion and literature, Biblical studies, the theories of Rene Girard 
(312) 355-3297
 1921 UH 
scottgr@uic.edu 
Jenks, Philip Lecturer 
(312) 996-1801
1807 UH 
pjenks@uic.edu 
Krall, Aaron Senior Lecturer  First-Year Writing, Basic Writing, Modern & Contemporary Drama, Theater, and Performance
(312) 413-2224
1803 UH 
akrall@uic.edu 
Lewis, Jennifer Lecturer 
(312) 413-2209 
1829 UH
jlewis4@uic.edu 
Lyons, Maryanne Lecturer 
(312) 413-9366
1927 UH 
mlyons4@uic.edu 
Manski, Catherine Lecturer 
(312) 413-9366
1927 UH 
kmanski@uic.edu 
McFarland, Scott Lecturer 
(312) 413-2228
1930 UH 
mmcfar1@uic.edu 
Newirth, Michael Lecturer 
(312) 413-2242
1801 UH 
newirth1@uic.edu 
O'Neil, Kim Senior Lecturer  Writing center praxis; disability studies; health and educational disparities
(312) 355-3178
1805 UH 
kimoneil@uic.edu 
Parr, Katherine Lecturer 
(312) 413-9366 
1927 UH
kparr@uic.edu 
Petrovic, Robin Lecturer 
(312) 413-9366
1927 UH 
rpetro3@uic.edu 
Khoury, Nicole Lecturer 
(312) 413-2231
1815 UH 
nkhoury@uic.edu
Coviello, Peter Professor  American literature, queer studies
2010 UH  coviello@uic.edu 
Rubin, Martin Lecturer  Film History; Genre Studies
(312) 413-2217  mrubin1@uic.edu 
Shearer, Jay Lecturer 
(312) 413-2214
1833 UH 
shearer@uic.edu 
Sherfinski, Todd Lecturer 
(312) 413-7277
1821 UH
tsherfin@uic.edu 
Stolley, Lisa Lecturer 
(312) 413-2228
1930 UH 
lstoll1@uic.edu 
Weeg, Marla Lecturer 
(312) 413-2231
1815 UH 
mweeg1@uic.edu 
Williams, Charitianne Senior Lecturer  Multilingualism in composition; Writing Centers; TESOL
(312) 355-3297
1921 UH 
cwilli31@uic.edu 
Young, Andrew Lecturer  Linguistics; Composition – focus on English-Language Learners
(312) 413-2218
1823 UH 
ayoung8@uic.edu 
Christian, Margena Lecturer  Media, Professional Writing, Digital and New Media, Black Popular Culture, Historical Inquiry
(312) 413-9343
2018 UH
mxan@uic.edu
Gore, Jeffrey Lecturer Renaissance literature and culture, history of education, grammar and composition pedagogy (312) 413-2242
1801 UH
 jgore1@uic.edu
Betts, Tara Visiting Lecturer   (312) 413-2214
1833 UH
 tbetts1@uic.edu
Leick, Karen Lecturer  Literary Modernism (312) 413-9343
2011 UH
 kleick@uic.edu
Yamshon, Lyndee Visiting Lecturer    1801 UH  lyamsh2@uic.edu
Magoon, Mark Lecturer  Poetry, creative writing, creative nonficiton  (312) 413-7654 1947 UH  mmagoon@uic.edu
Clarke, Matthew Visiting Lecturer   (312) 413-9798 1923 UH  mclarke9@uic.edu
Frangello, Gina Lecturer  Creative writing, fiction (312) 413-2209  gfrang1@uic.edu
Kessler, Jeffrey C. Visiting Lecturer  Victorian Literature, Criticism, Aesthetics, Rhetoric, and Professional Writing (312) 413-9343   jckessle@uic.edu
Hayek, Philip Wesley Lecturer   Rhetoric studies; military doctrine; professional and technical writing (312) 355-3178 phayek2@uic.edu 
Aleksa, Vainis Director, Writing Center Writing center pedagogy and tutor training (312) 413-2206 GH 105  vainis@uic.edu
DeJulio Bell, Lauren  Lecturer Community-based literacy, arts education, English teacher preparation, young adult literature (312) 413-2220 1900 UH ldejbel@uic.edu
Bennett, Mark Clinical Assistant Professor Composition and Rhetoric; Pedagogy; Terrorism and Political Violence  (312) 413-2249 2001 UH mbenne2@uic.edu
Rupert, Jennifer Senior Lecturer Transatlantic modernism, history of sexuality, feminisms, critical media studies (312) 413-2217 2026 UH
jruper1@uic.edu