Grants, Fellowships and Awards

Below are descriptions of the awards and scholarships available to English Majors each academic year.  Cover sheets for each award are available below.

If you have any questions about eligibility or would like to discuss your submission, please feel free to contact Professor Natasha Barnes, Director of Undergraduate Studies in English ( , Dr. Jennifer Rupert, Program Coordinator for Undergraduate Studies in English (, or Ms. Allison James, the dedicated English major/minor advisor in LAS (, for more details.

All application materials for Spring 2018 should be submitted to the Office of Undergraduate Studies (1931 UH) by Friday, April 6, 3pm in order to be considered. 

Anne Hopewell Selby Critical Essay Writing Award, and
Paul Carroll Creative Writing Award

These awards recognize outstanding achievement in creative and critical writing by undergraduate English majors.  Each student may submit a sample of no more than five pages of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, or critical writing.  Students may submit for both the Carroll and Selby awards; if interested in applying for both, students must fill out two separate applications.  Excerpts from longer works are welcome as long as they do not exceed the five-page limit. Neither the student’s name nor any other identifying information should appear on any of the pages of the submission. Winners and finalists for these awards will be selected by the Department of English’s Undergraduate Studies Committee. Download the coversheet by clicking here.

Paul Carroll Creative Writing Award: $250
Anne Hopewell Selby Critical Essay Writing Award: $500

Raymond and Wilma Campion Award, and
John and Jeanne Newton Scholarship

The Campion and the Newton Scholarships are awarded to outstanding English majors who have graduated from Chicago Public High Schools.  Applicants must have at least 30 but not more than 90 semester hours at the time of application and a minimum GPA of 3.0.  The selections will be made based upon the student's application, his or her personal statement, and faculty recommendations. All applicants will be considered for both the Campion and the Newton Scholarships. Download the coversheet by clicking here

The award for each scholarship will be credited toward tuition and fees: $1800

Robert and Corinne Silver Award
We are pleased to announce the Robert and Corinne Silver Award, a prize for a continuing undergraduate English major concentrating in the study of literature.  Preference will be given to applicants who can demonstrate academic ability. (Financial need may also play a role in the award decision).  To be eligible for this award, students must have a declared concentration in literature and  achieved sophomore standing or above. (Seniors graduating in Spring 2017 are not eligible). Download the coversheet by clicking here.

Robert and Corinne Silver Award: $500

Anne Hopewell Selby Undergraduate Research Award
In honor of the late professor Anne Hopewell Selby, the English Department awards the Anne Hopewell Selby Award to an outstanding undergraduate student pursuing scholarly activities outside the classroom.  The purpose of this award is to help cover expenses such as trips to conferences or special libraries or the purchase of books not required for classes.  Students should write a letter explaining their projects and submit a budget for expenses up to $250.  (There is no standard form for this award.)  Please explain how the projects described will contribute to your overall growth as a scholar.  In addition to the letter, students are asked to provide one piece of evidence of their growth and commitment to scholarship (such as a paper written for an English course or a conference paper) and one letter of recommendation.  Applicants should include the names of two other professors who are familiar with their work in the letter of application. Download the info sheet by clicking here.

Anne Hopewell Selby Undergraduate Research Award: $250

Ernest C. Van Keuren Award
Each year, one student is chosen by the faculty for the Ernest C. Van Keuren award, a $200 award which the department presents annually to its outstanding graduating senior. The winner is chosen by the faculty from among those students who are graduating with highest distinction.

Ernest C. Van Keuren Award: $200

UIC Awards and Scholarships

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences has many awards and scholarships for which English majors can apply. Click here for LAS Scholarships.

The Scholarship Association for the University of Illinois at Chicago also offers many awards and scholarships (including one specifically for English majors, the Robert and Corrinne Silver Award). Click here for the Scholarship Association

Students should also browse through the thorough list of scholarships and awards on the website of the Office of Special Scholarship Programs.